• Book Now
  • About Us

Review

4.9(139 Reviews)

Calligraphy

An excellent experience. I learned things about the Japanese language that I never knew before. We learned all of the fundamentals about starting calligraphy including how to create our own ink, very interesting. We also were exposed to the incredible skill that is required to do calligraphy in an reasonably decent way. There is so much mastery that is required to do this well. While I was not good at this, our instructor was so patient and supportive and this helped greatly. I LOVED having the opportunity to start to learn about this art. I strongly recommend this experience and I especially recommend Amy Kyoto's studio. They know what they are doing. Anyone who has even a minor interest in calligraphy and for those who want to learn about different aspects of traditional Japanese culture will find this experience rewarding.

C120x120 2fc10484b8Reply
2019/06/19

Thank you very much for attending our calligraphy lesson and writing such a lovely review for us. We are more than glad to know that you enjoyed the lesson and gained a lot of knowledge of Japanese culture and calligraphy.
Every single word you describe here means so much to us and will encourage other travelers to want to know more about Japanese culture through our calligraphy class.
We cannot thank you enough for your kind words.
Please come back to our other lessons and give us a try to provide you more Japanese culture here.
We are looking forward to seeing you again sometime in the future.

Warm regards,
Mari


Tea Ceremony

Mari was an amazing host! Very knowledgeable about the customs and traditions surrounding the ceremony and she did a great job demonstrating and teaching us before we tried ourselves. My friend and I were lucky enough to be the only ones booked into mid afternoon slot that day so we essentially had a private ceremony. It was a fantastic experience to relax on a warm spring afternoon away from the hustle and bustle of the rest of Kyoto for an hour or two.
Luke

C120x120 2fc10484b8Reply
2019/06/17

Dear Luke,

Thank you very much for attending our tea ceremony and spending such a quality time together and we really appreciate that you gave five-star review here. It means so much to us.
You two made yourselves a great audience and wonderful students! The best part is we could share the information about not only Japanese culture but also your culture in Australia!
We are sure that you are having a relaxing time with matcha by your amazing whisking skill back there.
Please keep up finding time for yourself even during busy hour and treat yourself better.

When you come back to Japan again, please stop by and say hi because you're always welcomed to our little townhouse.
Thank you so much once again.

Best wishes,
Mari


Ikebana

I spent a fascinating day learning not only about ikebana but also about Japan and the people. Thank you so much, I would recommend this to anyone. Katie

C120x120 2fc10484b8Reply
2019/06/14

Dear Katie,

Thank you very much for participating in our ikebana class and writing a review for us. We are really glad to know the lesson was enjoyable and informative for you. It was great to welcome a person who is very interested in our culture like you. Please keep having a pleasant time in Japan and we look forward to meeting you again. Thank you so much!!

Kind Regards,
Kimi


Ikebana

Kimi was a wonderful teacher. After a morning spent learning about the principles of Ikebana and practicing flower arrangement with Kimi, my friends and I went for a hike in Kifune and found ourselves looking at nature with a refreshed view. Kimi taught us to appreciate the "movement" and "stability" created by the natural curves and shapes of plants. It was such an enjoyable experience and a great introduction to Ikebana. Highly recommended!

C120x120 2fc10484b8Reply
2019/06/07

Thank you very much for taking part in our ikebana class and writing a review for us! It was lovely to see you all and we are glad to know you enjoyed the lesson. Sometimes we forget respecting and appreciating nature nowadays, but ikebana let us remember we are a part of nature. That's our honor you attained a different point of view

We hope you keep having a pleasant time in Japan and we'll see you again in the near future. Thank you so much!!

Kind Regards,
Kimi


Ikebana

Just perfect ! So interesting and the teacher was so nice ! Perfect !

C120x120 2fc10484b8Reply
2019/06/07

Thank you very much for attending our ikebana class and writing a review for us! That's our honor the lessons turned out "perfect" for you. Please keep enjoying your time in Japan. We look forward to meeting you again in the near future. Thank you so much!

Best Regards,
Kimi


Ikebana

Very friendly, knowledgeable host and easy to understand. We attended both ikebana and tea ceremony. There was a good balance of history/concept and hands on/demonstration. Fantastic experience!

C120x120 2fc10484b8Reply
2019/06/04

Dear Jingjing,

Thank you very much for taking part in our tea ceremony and ikebana class and writing a review for us. We are really glad to know you and your mother enjoyed both sessions. We hope you had a wonderful time in Japan and we'll meet you again anytime soon. Thank you so much!!

Best Regards,
Kimi


Tea Ceremony

Amazing experience, loved the way the teachers showed us the ritual and also let to practice us ourselves.

C120x120 2fc10484b8Reply
2019/06/03

Thank you very much for participating in our tea ceremony experience and writing a review for us. We are very glad you had a good time with us. We hope you made a lot of good memories in Japan and we'll see you again before long. Thank you so much!

Kind Regards,
Kimi


Calligraphy

Amazing experience. I learned a lot. I enjoyed that there was a lot of practice. I kept all my papers, it's a great souvenirs.

C120x120 2fc10484b8Reply
2019/05/31

Thank you very much for attending our calligraphy class and writing a review for us. We are happy to know you enjoyed the session and it was informative for you. That's our biggest pleasure the lesson turned out one of your good memories in Kyoto.

We hope you keep having a great time in Japan and we'll see you again sometime soon. Thank you so much!!

Best Regards,
Kimi


Calligraphy

Everything I expected from a calligraphy class - history of calligraphy and the importance of it, skills needed and its uniqueness. Japanese Calligraphy is not easy but I will practice more. Will definitely be becoming back.

C120x120 2fc10484b8Reply
2019/05/30

Dear Ritah,

Thank you very much for attending our calligraphy class and writing a review for us. We are really glad to know the lesson satisfied you. We hope you keep having a great time in Japan and we'll meet you again before long. Thank you so much!!

Best Regards,
Kimi


Tea Ceremony

The tea ceremony was very enlightening about how and why it is done. The two women did an outstanding job showing and explaining plus including us in the process. I highly recommend this ceremony as it will give you a wonderful insight into Japanese culture.

C120x120 2fc10484b8Reply
2019/05/29

Thank you so much for joining our tea ceremony and leaving such nice words here on review.
It means so much to us and encourages us to try our best more. The best part is you appreciate Japanese culture and understand it.

Thank you so much once again, and wish you all the best in Japan!
Mari